Spencer Group caps standout month after landing prestigious accolade at the annual RailStaff Awards

Spencer Group has capped what has been a hugely successful November with yet another prestigious

Just weeks after being named Supplier of the Year at the national Transport Awards, the Hull-based
rail infrastructure company has won the Rail Infrastructure/Possessions Team of the Year award at
the annual RailStaff Awards for the delivery of its Gravesend Station Re-modelling project.

The two awards come on the back of Spencer Group winning the Best Large Project on Britain’s
Railways in 2013-14 at the Network Rail Partnerships Awards 2014 earlier this year for its work on a
major rail improvement scheme in Ipswich.

David McLoughlin, group managing director at Spencer Group, said: “I am delighted that Spencer
Rail has once again been awarded one of the UK rail industry’s most prestigious awards. It is
testament to the continued hard work and efforts of all at Spencer that has been named as the Rail
Infrastructure/Possessions Team of the Year.

“This accolade caps what has been a fantastic month for the company and further emphasises the
strides we have made as a business in 2014.

“Our entry highlighted Spencer Group’s innovative and multi-disciplinary capabilities that we have
employed throughout the UK in 2013/14 while working on a number of large, challenging rail

“I would like to thank my whole team at Spencer Group for its unrivalled commitment and fantastic
work ethic, without which, we would not be able to deliver the brilliant works we do and be
continually recognised in the industry’s most sort after awards.”

Spencer Group carried out a substantial alteration of the track layout at Gravesend to accommodate a
new island platform, extend the existing platforms and remove the old lattice footbridge.

The improvements have created a more modern infrastructure for rail users in Kent.

The RailStaff Awards started in 2007 with an aim at recognising the great work that the people who
work in the industry do.

Visit http://www.railstaffawards.com/winners.php?year=2014 for a full list of award winners.


Rail Staff awards Spencer Rail